Latest Info: Happy New Year and welcome to 2019! We are planning several off-season events, so stay tuned. Dive into those rule books and refine your football rules knowledge for next season!

Week Eight - 2018

16 Oct 2018 2:11 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)
  1. A coach who uses the shot gun exclusively wanted to spike the ball without a hand-to-hand snap. A running back was lined up right in front of and beside the QB and the QB just threw the ball at the RB’s feet.  That is a foul for intentional grounding; the pass was purposely thrown incomplete to conserve time (7-5-2e).
  2. A punt was touched by R near the sideline and then recovered by a K player perpendicular to the sideline; his hips were on the sideline and his feet OOB. The L signaled K’s ball then mildly argued with R and U who clearly saw the player was OOB when he touched the ball. Of course, the coach was there and kept repeating that the ball was always inbounds and recovered inbounds. Neither L nor the coach understood that if a loose ball is touched by any player who is touching OOB, the ball is dead OOB (2-29-3). The point is L only watched the ball and didn’t pay any attention to the recovering K player because he didn’t understand the rule.
  3. A crew had to listen to derogatory comments from a team statistician. Please don’t hesitate to eject statisticians. They can do their job from the press box. In a separate game, the statistician was also coaching. If he does that, he has to stay in the team box.
  4. A team took a lot of time after touchdowns to get ready for kickoffs. The crew should time the one-minute intermission after the try. They can then be flagged under 3-6-2e if they aren’t lined up and ready to kick after the one-minute intermission expires. Or you can blow the ready giving them 25 seconds to kick off.
  5. An onside kick struck a K player in the neutral zone. Another K player then blocked an R player before the ball traveled 10 yards. The contact was a spearing foul. The ball was given to R at the FT spot and the penalty enforced from there. That enforcement was incorrect. You cannot enforce a penalty from an FT spot unless the FT spot is also the dead-ball spot (succeeding spot). Under 6-1-7 the right of R to take the ball at the FT spot is canceled if the penalty for any foul during the down is accepted.
  6. The important thing is to get the play right, but getting it right quickly can pay huge dividends by avoiding unnecessary consternation by coaches. Here are some examples which were all ultimately ruled correctly:

    a.       K recovers a kick and advances. The ball is dead when K gains possession. The K player will almost certainly take a few steps before the whistle can be blown, but if you let him run to the EZ, there is a risk of fouls or a fumble; all will invite arguments. This has happened about 50 times over the years with only 1-2 quick whistles. You can do it.

    b.      A muffed kick enters R’s EZ. The ball is dead for a touchback when the ball breaks the plane of the goal line. We’ve had two sets of officials that signaled a TD on that type of play and another crew that decided to dig for the ball to see who recovered. It doesn’t matter who ends up with the ball. In all three cases massive arguments followed. The goal should be to kill the ball within two bounces after it breaks the plane.

    c.       In overtime, the ball is immediately dead when B intercepts. Again, the interceptor will almost certainly take a few steps before the whistle can be blown, but if you let the play progress nothing good can happen. This happened and the interceptor fumbled; A recovered and “scored.” That was quite messy, especially for TV game.

  7. In 6c above, the TV announcer went off on the officials because announcers don’t know the rules. We then had an official attempt to educate the announcer in writing. It went downhill from there. No one likes to be erroneously criticized, but that’s TV land. Instead of getting mad, just laugh.

© Denver Football Officials Association
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software